100 Day Gong

Standard

Paying attention to your intentions.


Gong in Chinese is a designated amount of time that you allot to perform a specific task daily. For example, knowing that it takes at least 90 days for a particular good habit to “burn into” your nervous system, I have found that the 100 Day Gong is the most appropriate length to practice. This means that we pick a particular practice (or set of practices) and designate them as our Gong and we diligently practice them every day for 100 days without fail. This means that if you miss a day, even if its day 99, you start over. Not only does this build resolve, it forces us to wake up and pay attention to our day-to-day routines. It is incredibly painful when you miss day 46, for instance and have to start over. At first you try to make excuses to yourself about how it was OK and how you’ll just keep going, but then, a deal is a deal…you start over. Next round, you pay attention! It is a wonderful way of not only building focus and determination, but also to ensure that you train regularly. It is a dedicated act of self-love that snaps you out of your daily trance and brings the light of awareness to your consciousness. The more we practice, the more we wake up and the better off we are.

I do these all of the time in my personal life and development. I set goals for myself for the next 100 days (physical, mental, spiritual) and I look at them daily and I reinforce my Sub Conscious mind every day for those hundred days. When it is over, I assess where I am and take a few days of introspection and meditation before I set my next gong. In essence, I allow my Super Conscious mind to guide me into the next series of programs for the Sub Conscious mind. This is a wonderful method for bringing the Self Conscious mind into the equation and tie all aspects together- again, harmonizing Yin and Yang.


Doing a 100 day gong is a way of making that important commitment to yourself and holding yourself accountable if you fall off of the wagon. 100 days seems like a long time, but if there are things you know you should be doing, things that you know can change your life in a positive way, then make the damn commitment and follow through with positive change.

http://crazyhappyhealthy.com/100-day-gong-change-habits-honor-body-improve-life/

Leave a Reply

